Other Types of Property Tax Exemptions

Property Tax Basics with Top Mortgage lender in DallasOther Types of Property Tax Exemptions

The Homestead Exemption is the primary source of tax savings on a home; however, there are other types of property tax exemptions for homeowners.  This article addresses the Over 65 Tax Exemption and the Disabled Person Tax Exemption.  (Check out our Homestead Exemption page for links to North Texas counties websites where these forms can be downloaded).

Over-65 Homeowners

A person who is 65 or older may receive additional exemptions. You are eligible for these exemptions as soon as you turn 65; you don’t need to be 65 as of the first of the year to apply. School districts automatically grant an additional $10,000 exemption for qualified persons who are 65 or older. An additional advantage of the over-65 exemption is the school tax ceiling. Once you qualify, your school taxes will not increase unless you make improvements to the home. Cities, the county, and other taxing units may, but are not required to, offer over-65 homestead exemptions of at least $3,000 and sometimes much more. Call the Harris County Appraisal District at the numbers listed on the contact page to determine what taxing units in which your home is located offer an over-65 homestead exemption. You can also find this information on our website by going to the page for your account and clicking the blue word “Jurisdictions” in the heading of the table of jurisdictions. We also can send you a pamphlet on disability exemptions.

100% Disabled Veteran or Surviving Spouse

The veteran must be classified as disabled by the Veteran’s Administration or the armed services branch in which the owner served, must be a Texas resident, have a service-connected disability, and choose only one property to receive the exemption. The exemption amount that a qualified disabled veteran receives depends on the veteran’s disability rating from the branch of the armed service.
Disabled Veteran or Surviving Spouse Exemption Chart
A disabled veteran may also qualify for an exemption of $12,000 of the assessed value of the property if the veteran is age 65 or older with a disability rating of at least 10 percent, totally blind in one or both eyes; or has lost use of one or more limbs.

Disabled And Over 65

Age 65 or older or Disabled homeowners may be entitled to an additional property tax exemption available immediately upon qualification. If you qualify for both of these exemptions, you must choose one or the other, you cannot receive both exemptions. For school tax purposes, there is an additional $10,000 exemption on your home. If you qualify for the Age 65 or older or the Disabled Person exemption, you are also entitled to a school tax ceiling that automatically sets the limit for school taxes. A County, City or Junior College may also adopt to grant a tax limitation or ceiling. You may transfer the percentage of the school tax ceiling of your former home to a new home. If the age 65 or older homeowner dies, the surviving spouse may continue to receive the exemption if the surviving spouse is age 55 or older at the time of death and lives in and owns the home and applies for the exemption. The Disabled Person exemption and school tax ceiling will not transfer to the surviving spouse; however, they are entitled to continue the County, City or Junior College tax limitation or ceiling (if offered).